Tshungwana Clinic In Osborn
Tshungwana Clinic In Osborn

We Are Restless

Having been busy organising everything/settling back into the UK after my overseas ICS placement in South Africa, I haven’t been able to post much about my voluntary experience. The International Citizenship Service was something I came across when I was researching overseas opportunities during the summer. After researching it and talking to previous volunteers about their own experiences, I decided it was something I wanted to go for. So… after a considerably lengthy (yet enjoyable) recruitment process, I was offered a place on the South Africa programme from the 12th June to 28th August.

One of the requirements of getting to take part in this programme was fundraising a minimum amount of £800. Although the programme is government funded, the required amount to fundraise was to ensure the sustainability of the programme after we had left. After weeks of harassing friends and family, I finally raised the entire total. Then, eventually I departed and left for South Africa with a group of wonderful volunteers from all over the UK.

This little blog section will explore in depth the issues raised during my placement in South Africa and how it compares to the UK. My placement was a particularly difficult one – having my suitcase stolen, my money stolen, experiencing team dynamic problems, health problems… This isn’t to say that my experience was completely awful. I learned a lot about myself during this placement because of the amount of free time I spent reflecting on my life at home.